Enough with the End-of-the-World Medium Stories

Jake Wilder
4 min readNov 19, 2021

Stop Peddling Fear, It’s a Terrible Motivator

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

I get it. These stories tend to do very well. As Facebook’s shown, enragement = engagement.

And most of these stories are well-written. They’re engaging articles that evoke powerful emotions and get more than their share of claps. You can easily build a career peddling outrage and depression. It’s only a matter of time before the Hollis’s pivot there from toxic positivity.

So yeah, I get it. But none of these articles are helpful. Just like Zuckerberg manufacturing rage for the sake of profit isn’t helpful. He can call the company whatever he wants, until they stop monetizing dissension while preaching connection, his legacy will continue on its current shameful path.

Maybe it’s just my feed, but it seems as though Medium’s now inundated with stories of how the world’s ending. I agree they’re a nice break from the seemingly contradictory “How I got rich writing on Medium,” and “Why everyone should leave Medium,” themes, but again, it’s not helping.

The world isn’t getting worse. Despite what many enragement authors would like us to believe, the world continues to improve. Across almost all meaningful measures, the trends show a long arc to the positive. Infant mortality? Improving. Childhood vaccination rates…

--

--

Jake Wilder

I don’t know where I’m going. But at least I know how to get there.